Skip to content

Outfit 0406’11: Mama, mama, I just shot a man down

juni 9, 2011


Oh I’m loving this song só much at the moment, it’s on repeat for a couple of days already. I have never been a huge fan of Rihanna but I have to admit that her latest album got me hooked! (loving Complicated, Cheers and California Kingbed a lot as well). Of course the Americans are having problems with the fact that she is shooting a man in the clip and however I do not encourage the use of violence or whatever, I absolutely do not like it when they are making such a big problem out of something quite insignificant. The shooting part is necessary for the video and is telling the story of frustration and pressure Rihanna (and many other girls all over the world) must have felt while being abused by their boyfriend or even some random guy. Leslie Morgan Steiner wrote a very good article about the commotion amongst the new vid,  it’s really worth reading!

So.. having said that (;-)), let’s have a look at last Saturday’s outfit (yep, still delayed!). I wore this while getting an ice cream with my mom and to the house warming party of our new neighbours! I love the casual and comfortable fabric of both the blazer and the shorts. Damn I’m so in love with the colour of this blazer, it’s so different!

Oh ik hou zo van dit nummer op het moment, hij staat al een aantal dagen op repeat. Ik ben nooit echt een liefhebber geweest van Rihanna’s muziek, maar ik moet toegeven dat haar laatste album echt goed is! (ik vind Complicated, Cheers en California Kingbed ook stuk voor stuk erg leuk). Natuurlijk hebben de amerikanen weer problemen met het feit dat ze een man neerschiet in de clip en alhoewel ik geen voorstander ofzo ben van het gebruik van geweld, vind ik het echt onnodig dat ze altijd zo’n groot probleem maken van dit soort onbelangrijke dingen. De beelden van dat ze hem neerschiet zijn noodzakelijk om het verhaal te verbeelden en vertellen het verhaal over frustratie en druk die Rihanna (en vele andere meisjes over de hele wereld) moeten ervaren wanneer ze mishandeld/misbruikt worden door hun vriend of zelf een vreemde. Leslie Morgan Steiner schreef een heel goed artikel over de commotie rondom deze nieuwe video, het is echt het lezen waard!

Zo.. dat gezegd te hebben (;-)), laten we eens kijken naar mijn look van afgelopen zaterdag (yep, nog steeds wat vertraging!). Ik droeg dit toen ik een ijsje ging halen met mijn moeder en naar de housewarming van onze nieuwe buren! Ik ben dol op de nonchalante en comfortabele stoffen van zowel de blazer als de shorts. Damn, de kleur van de blazer is echt liefde, zo anders!

Photos by Myrthe Lagrouw

Blazer – Zara | tanktop – Only | shorts – Zara | sandals – Invito | watch – Regal | nailpolish – Catrice’s I scream peach!

I was wearing my mom’s Coco Mademoiselle by Chanel

2 reacties leave one →
  1. juni 12, 2011 00:41

    Can you lend me your blazer?? It is awesome, and the color.. tdf! Following you on bloglovin!

    • juni 13, 2011 16:12

      Thanks for your support and super sweet comment! I am so in love with the blazer myself as well =)

Geef een reactie

