Skip to content

Nostalgia; what I wore to my Sweet Sixteen party

juli 12, 2011

IFB’s project for this week is so much fun, it’s about recalling an outfit you wore to an important thing in your life. For example a first date, your graduation or something else. It took me a while to decide which outfit I should recreate but in the end I came up with the dress I wore to my high school graduation last year. I took some photos (just half an hour ago, yeah.. with the self-timer..:P) and checked the IFB website once again. Then I remembered my Sweet Sixteen party and changed all plans.

When I turned sixteen I decided I wanted such a great, big, over the top party I regularly saw at MTV’s ‘My Super Sweet Sixteen’ as well. Well, since my parents are not multimillionaires and since they -poor me- don’t spoil me to the top, it became a significantly smaller and less over the top party than I imagined, however it was a lot of fun. I organized it together with one of my best friends, Lizzy, we set up a partytent in our backyard, added a lot of garden candles in the garden and at our balcony and on top of that decided that the theme would be ‘Hollywood’. So everyone was supposed to dress like they were heading to an important première or like one of their favourite movie stars. We had people dressed like Tom Cruise, in evening gowns and like cowboys and rappers for example. A red carpet marked the way from the street to the garden, in the hedge we added the famous Hollywood letters and halfway the evening we nominated one best dressed woman and man, who of course received an oscar in the form of a gold-sprayed Barbie. It really was one of the greatest and most creative birthdays I’ve had so far and I am sure I will remember it till eternity with a huge smile on my face🙂 Oh btw, I found out later that Yolanthe (the wife of soccer player Wesley Sneijder and Dutch actress) wore the same dress to an event, I was so proud haha!

IFB’s project voor deze week staat garant voor veel geweldige artikelen, de bedoeling is dat iedereen een outfit die je droeg naar een belangrijke gebeurtenis opnieuw creëert. Bijvoorbeeld naar je diploma uitreiking of een eerste date. Ik heb er lang over nagedacht en bedacht uieindelijk dat ik de outfit die ik vorig jaar naar mijn diploma uitreiking droeg wilde recreëren. Ik nam een paar foto’s (ongeveer een half uur geleden, ja.. met de self-timer..:P) en bekeek IFB’s website nog een laatste keer. Toen herinnerde ik me mijn Sweet Sixteen feestje en veranderde mijn plannen.

Toen ik zestien werd besloot ik dat ik ook een geweldige, grote en over the top feestje wilde geven zoals ik altijd zag in MTV’s ‘My Super Sweet Sixteen’. Maar aangezien mijn ouders geen multimiljonair zijn en aangezien ze mij -helaas- ook niet tot in den treure verwennen, werd het een aanzienlijk kleiner en minder over the top feestje dan ik aanvankelijk in gedachten had. Hoe dan ook het was wel een geweldig verjaardagsfeest. Ik organiseerde het met een van mijn beste vriendinnen, Lizzy, en we zetten een partytent op in de achtertuin, plaatsten vele tuinkaarsen zowel in de tuin zelf als op het balkon en daarbij verzonnen we dat het thema ‘Hollywood’ zou worden. Iedereen werd dus verwacht zich te kleden alsof ze naar een belangrijke première gingen of als een van hun favoriete filmsterren. We hadden een Tom Cruise, mensen in avondjurken maar bijvoorbeeld ook cowboys en rappers. Een rode loper markeerde het pad van de straat naar de achtertuin, in de heg hadden we de welbekende Hollywood letters gestoken en halverwege de avond was er een uitreiking voor de best geklede man en vrouw van de avond. Zij ontvingen natuurlijk een oscar in de vorm van een goudbespoten Barbie. Het was zonder twijfel een van de meest geweldige en creatieve verjaardagen die ik tot nu toe heb gehad en ik ben er zeker van dat ik hem altijd zal herinneren met een grote glimlach op mijn gezicht🙂 En oja, later ontdekte ik dat Yolanthe dezelfde jurk had gedragen naar een of ander event, ik was zo trots haha!






In the pictures:
On top of the page: Me and Lizzy
Below text: me, Caroline & Niels (dressed like a multimillionaire), two of my best friends were the djs of the night, our Tom Cruise, the oscars for the best dressed man and woman of the night and Yolanthe in the same dress.

4 reacties leave one →
  1. juli 13, 2011 17:02

    Hi! I like this post so much, you look really great!
    If you want come and visit my blog, and if you like, follow me!

  2. juli 13, 2011 23:00

    cute dress, the color is so nice

    Travel in Style

  3. juli 14, 2011 14:10

    Leuke fotos ^^ en je droeg een prachtige jurk! x

  4. juli 15, 2011 09:18

    Nice blog. :))

    If you like my blog, follow me and I’ll follow you back. :))

Geef een reactie

