Skip to content

Overview NY Fashion Week so far!

september 13, 2011

As we speak is New York fashion week halfway over already, so time for a short overview of the important shows so far! There were still a lot dark colours if you consider these are the spring collections.. A lot of navy, winered and even ochre every now and then. One trend has already been determined, namely sportswear! Yes, that’s right.. sportswear. It can look really chic! We also saw flower prints and monochromatic looks quite often. I lóve monochronic looks!

As we speak is New York fashion week alweer over de helft, dus hoog tijd voor een kort overview van de belangrijke shows tot nu toe! Er waren nog steeds veel donkere kleuren te zien, zeker als je bedenkt dat dit de lente/zomer collecties zijn.. Veel navy blauw, wijnrood en zelfs zo nu en dan wat oker. Eén trend kunnen we al met zekerheid vaststellen, en dat is sportswear! Ja, dat klopt.. sportswear. Maar het kan heel chic staan! Verder zagen we veel bloemenprints en monochromatische looks. Ik ben gek op monochromatische looks!

Alexander Wang


Lots of sportswear, and they absolutely show that it can look so sophisticated! I’m also already a fan of their flowerprinted looks, especially with the kind of corset top. Every now and then there ware still a pop of leather, in line with this year’s fall shows.

Veel sportswear, en ze laten absoluut zien dat het heel sophisticated kan staan! Ik ben ook al een fan van hun bloemenprint looks, vooral die met het korsetachtige topje. Zo nu en dan was er een leren outfit te zien, in lijn met de herfst/winter shows van dit jaar.

Altuzarra
Lots of leather at Altuzarra, good since I am not yet tired of it! Worn with oversized coats and knitwear, lovely! Also very exotical flowerprints, which indeed added some colour to the collection but I have to admit I liked the ones from Alexander Wang better.

Veel leer bij Altuzarra, goed wat ik ben het nog lang niet zat! Gedragen met oversized jacks en breisels, lovely! Verder zorgen exotische bloemenprints voor wat kleur in de collectie, al moet ik zeggen dat ik de prints van Alexander Wang mooier vind.

Helmut Lang

I am a fan of Helmut Lang’s show! The minimalistic touch with – again – sporty chic creates something special that you either love or hate. A couple of yellow and printed outfits made it a bit more variated, however I did not like the yellow outfits too much.

Ik ben fan van Helmut Langs show! De minimalistische touch met – opnieuw-  sporty chic creëert iets speciaals dat je óf geweldig vindt óf haat. Een aantal gele en geprinte outfits brachten wat variatie in de show, maar ik moet zeggen dat ik niet zo weg was van de gele outfits.

Diane von Furstenberg

Ahh.. some more minimalism, me likey! Again monochromatic looks, lots of neutrals and lovely, soft, spring-like (!) colours. Can I conclude we can undust our Chanel – Jade dupes again coming spring?

Ahh.. meer minimalisme, me likey! Opnieuw monochromatische looks, veel neutrale kleuren en lieve, zachte, lente-achtige (!) kleuren. Kan ik concluderen dat we onze Chanel – Jade dupes kunnen afstoffen aankomende lente?

Tommy Hilfiger

To be honest, I don’t refer to Hilfiger as a ‘high-fashion’ brand, however in this show there were some looks that I loved. Especially the first one with the comfy, sweet coloured jumper is a look that I love. What else did we see? Some leather, fall colours as well as more spring-like colours such as light blue and lilac, checks and flowerprints.

Om eerlijk te zijn reken ik Hilfiger nooit tot de ‘high fashion’ brands, maar toch zaten er in deze show aan aantal looks die me aanspraken. Vooral de eerste, met de comfortable, vrolijk gekleurde jumper is een look die ik mooi vind. Wat zagen we nog meer? Wat leer, zowel herfstkleuren als meer lente-achtige kleuren zoals licht blauw en lila, ruitjes en bloemenprints.

Victoria Beckham
Still recognizable by the great, chic, bodycon dresses, even Vic added a touch of Stella McCartney’s sporty chic. Not bad at all; I liked most of the looks of the show! Great, quite long leather pants, lovely materials and great colours. But.. some of the outfits looks more like they’re from a fall/winter show than a spring/summer show if you’d ask me. Nevertheless, I love both the ‘wintery’ as the ‘summery’ looks a lot! Great inspiration!

Alhoewel nog steeds te herkennen bij de prachtige, chique bodycon jurken, heeft zelfs Vic wat van Stella McCartneys sporty chic toegevoegd dit jaar. Dat heeft absoluut niet slecht uitgepakt; de meeste looks uit de show spreken me zeer aan! Geweldige, aardig lange leren broeken, mooie materialen en prachtige kleuren. Maar.. sommige van de looks lijken eerder uit een herfst/winter show te komen dan uit een lente/zomer show als je het mij vraagt. Hoe dan ook, beide looks, zowel de lente-achtige als de winterse looks vind ik erg mooi! Goede inspiratie!

Y-3

Dark colours,  check. Sporty looks, double check. I kinda like the overall look of the show and especially the last three outfits of the collage above but again it is pretty dark for a summer show. Well.. they say all-black outfits are the most chic and sophisticated.. Is it something for you?

Donkere keuren, check. Sportieve looks, dubbel check. Ik vind de gehele look van de show wel wat hebben moet ik zeggen, en vooral de laatste drie outfits van het collage hierboven spreken me erg aan. Maar opnieuw: het is best donker voor een zomer show. Maarja.. ze zeggen dat geheel zwarte outfits de meest chique en sophisticated looks zijn.. Is het iets voor jou?

One Comment leave one →
  1. september 13, 2011 23:09

    Wauw, er zitten echt heel erg mooie dingen tussen🙂 !

Geef een reactie

