Skip to content

How to wear sequined skirts?

september 17, 2011

Sequined skirts… I’m spotting there more and more often and aren’t they just the perfect item for parties and holidays? And be honest: which girl can resist glitters all over? I can’t. But how to wear sequined skirts without looking cheap or over the top? The answer is quite simple: tone it down. Add some edgy materials like cosy knitwear and be careful with your accesories. All that glitter is your best accesory tonight!

Pailettenrokjes… Ik spot ze meer en meer en zijn ze niet gewoon perfect voor feestjes en feestdagen? En om eerlijk te zijn: welk meisje kan glitters all over nu weerstaan? Ik niet. Maar hoe draag je zo’n rokje zonder dat het er goedkoop of over the top uit gaat zien? Het antwoord is simpel: tone it down. Gooi er wat edgy materialen tegenaan zoals fijne breisels en kijk uit met je ac cesoires. De glitters zijn je beste accesoire vannacht!

This skirt is stunning, unfortunately I found it on polyvore without any source.. So if anyone knows the designer/brand, share it please!🙂 The brownish glitters complement the awesome and cosy ZARA jumper in a great way if you ask me. The perfect combination between dressing up and keeping it comfortable. I think this is a lovely outfit for family holidays like thanksgiving, Christmas of our very own Dutch ‘Sinterklaas’. I personally love the loafers but of course any kind of (preferable black) shoes look good with this outfit. To light up the ‘empty’ neckline a bit, I added a great transparant statement necklace.

Dit rokje vind ik geweldig, helaas heb ik het gevonden op polyvore, zonder enige bron.. Dus als iemand weet wie de designer/welk merk het is, vertel het me alsjeblieft!🙂 De bruinachtige glitters complimenteren de awesome en comfortabele ZARA trui op een geweldige manier als je het mij vraagt. De perfecte combinatie tussen dressing up en het comfortabel houden. Ik vind het een perfecte outfit voor familie-feestdagen zoals thanksgiving, kerst en Sinterklaas. Persoonlijk houd ik van loafers maar natuurlijk kan vrijwel elke (liefst zwarte) schoen goed bij deze outfit. Om de kale halslijn wat te vullen heb ik gekozen voor deze geweldige transparante statement ketting.


The second outfit is a bit more feminine and classy. A basic but beautiful and classic bowed blouse (worn tucked in the skirt) with on top of it again some knitwear, this time in the form of a winered mohair cape. To finish off some GREAT heeled sandals by River Island I have a crush on ever since I first saw them.

De tweede outfit is wat vrouwelijker en klassieker. Een basic maar mooie en klassieke blouse met strik (in de rok gedragen) met daaroverheen opnieuw iets gebreids, dit keer in de vorm van een wijnrode mohair cape. Om het af te maken een paar PRACHTIGE gehakte sandaaltjes van River Island waarop ik al een crush heb sinds de eerste keer dat ik ze zag.


Lastly a great look by Zara, I am soooo in love with the jumper! Desperate to add it to my closet, but I cannot find it yet in their (online)shop..

Als laatste een geweldige look van Zara zelf, ik vind deze trui zoooooo ontzettend mooi! Ik wil hem echt hopeloos graag aanschaffen, maar kan hem tot nu toe nog niet vinden in hun (online) shop.

Look 1:
Sequined skirt: unknown
Jumper, Zara, €39.95
Loafers, River Island, 30 pounds
Necklace, Nelly, €17.95

Look 2:
skirt, unknown
Mohair poncho, Zara, €129.00
Blouse, H&M, €9.95
Heels, River Island, 50 pounds

Look 3:
All ZARA.

One Comment leave one →
  1. september 18, 2011 12:32

    I really love the Zara sequined skirt🙂 ! I think it’s even wearable for school if you wear it with simple things such as a sweater🙂 !

Geef een reactie

