Skip to content

NY Fashion week Round up

september 18, 2011

NY fashion week has ended for a few days already and London’s fashion week is up and running at this very moment. I reported a brief overview halfway NY fashion week, which you can read here, so now it’s time for the round up!

3.1 Phillip Lim


Whereas I’m usually a huge fan of 3.1 Phillip Lim (especially the this fall’s show), I must say I didn’t like the overall look of spring 2012’s show too much. However, the looks I picked for the collage above all inspire me a lot. As I said before: I love the monochromatic looks and also the first look is great. Besides that and chinos, we also saw pastel colours.

ADAM


Playful, springlike and beautiful cuts and materials, that is how I would describe ADAM’s show. I’m a fan of the bright pink worn with crispy whites, the flowerprints and the trousers.. Dreamy, chic and girly… great ingredients for a summer show!

A Détacher
The majority of the looks sent down the runway by A Détacher were just not my cup of tea. The ones I selected for the collage however, look pretty good together and form a completely different view of the show. I kinda like the simplicity that it forms now. We saw edgy, raw materials like cotton, simple silhouettes with special details and cuts, polka dots and brown leather.

Alexandre Herchcovitz

Marie Antoinette visits Japan, that’s the feeling this show gives me. When I was younger I would have adored this collection, but to be honest I’m getting a bit bored of the Chinese prints these days. What I do love is the bow in the fourth outfit, the scarf around the head in the fifth outfit and the sweet dress in the last picture.

Bill Blass

Ahh… Each summer there is at least one designer who cannot resist the sailor chic look and this year it’s Bill Blass’s turn. We saw the traditional sailor chic colours whire, navy and red, of course with stripes. Every now and then there was a pop of bright yellow and orange and most of the outfits were, surprisingly, worn with gladiator sandals which added some confusion and variation to the outworn idea of sailor collections. Like!

Chado Ralph Rucci
I was pretty surprised by Chado Ralph Rucci’s collection! Didn’t expect too much and then the greatest and most creative looks popped up on my screen. I love the combination of materials, the sequined pants and basic but beautiful cuts. And of course the monochronic looks😉

Hervé Léger by Max Azria
You either hate them or love them; the dresses Hervé Léger is famous for. But just like actually every girl needs a pair of Louboutins in her shoe closet, a Léger dress is not to be missed in your party-dresses wardrobe. The dresses for this spring seem to be a mixture between goldrush, gladiators and aztec prints and it is a combination that I personally love.

Jason Wu
You have probably seen this collection already, since a lot of people are lyrical about it. I really love the high waisted trousers, sometimes with flower/polka dot prints, the parkas (and I am not even a fan of the parka!), the shorts and the sweet pinks you see every now and then. Great job!

Michael Kors
While Bill Blass sends us on a cruise, Michael Kors relives the Africa chic look. There were a lot of – in my opinion – terrible looks, but those above are quite nice if you’d ask me. Seems like the gladiator shoes are making their comeback this spring?

Theyskens’ Theory

I LOVE THIS SHOW! Ready to wear in the most ultimate sense of the word, without getting boring. The show contained a lot more great looks, so I really recommend you to take a look yourself.🙂

Well.. so far for New York Fashion Week, ready for London’s yet? What were your favourite collections/looks of NYFW? I’d loooove to hear!

No comments yet

Geef een reactie

